The South Wales Evening Post Community Awards are returning on Thursday, April 29 with an exciting virtual ceremony. After the event was postponed last year, the suspense has had time to build and we will soon find out which local champions will scoop the top spots.

Across our region, we have so many remarkable, inspirational individuals who put in such hard work in order to give back to our community. The recognition and celebration that these local legends deserve is endless and therefore everyone is invited to attend the free, virtual South Wales Evening Post Community Awards. To register for tickets, contact simone.joynes@reachplc.com.

The South Wales Evening Post Community Awards, headline sponsored by McDonald’s, celebrate the work of our local heroes, so it would be impossible not to champion those who have selflessly helped our region during the pandemic. In such unprecedented times, members of our community have bravely risen to the challenge. We have created a new category to add to the awards to ensure they get the appreciation that they deserve: Covid-19 Hero .

The award for Covid-19 Hero, sponsored by BMI Werndale, will be given to someone who has demonstrated exceptional courage in the face of adversity and gone out of their way to help their community throughout the Covid-19 pandemic. Nominate whoever you feel has taken steps to help and improve our community during these troublesome times by Monday, March 29 so that their inspirational work can be celebrated.

WalesOnline editor, Jonathan Roberts, reflected on the past year: “Despite the pain and the sadness of a year with coronavirus, we have also witnessed the remarkable resilience of our community. We have seen kindness and generosity, we have seen courage, we have seen the very best of human spirit.

“Our community awards event is billed as a night for heroes – and this year they truly deserve a moment in the spotlight.”

Before the event’s postponement last year, the judges created their shortlist for the awards. Here are the finalists:

Grassroots Sports Coach of the Year

There are countless committed individuals whose enthusiasm, skill and sheer dedication ensures that our local sports organisations continue to thrive.

Christopher Davies

Holly Molino

Christopher Williams

Sporting Excellence

This category is awarded to someone who has shown exceptional sporting achievements whether they be professional or amateur.

Jay Harris

Brett Johns

Tennessee Randall

Community Champion

Sponsored by Delta Wellbeing.

This award recognises those people who dedicate their time to make our communities a better place.

Ian Jenkins

Thom Lynch

Tony Wall

Carer / Healthcare Professional of the Year

Sponsored by Wales England Care Training.

Carers are surely the unseen and unsung heroes in our community, we should never underestimate the invaluable work and support they offer. You can also nominate your local health care professional, such as your doctor or nurse.

Cath Dyer

Mair Ellery

Patricia Ann Woodman


Sponsored by Swansea Council.

This category recognises people who have made our city proud, who have represented our area, are role models and have never forgotten their roots.

Winner announced at the awards ceremony on April 29.

Child of Courage

Sponsored by Admiral.

The Child of Courage category, especially for children aged 18 and under, is a very special category that captures the essence of the Community Awards.

Kian Aliffe

McKenzie John

Stephen Pegler-Loach

Teacher / Mentor of the Year

A good teacher or mentor can leave an impression that lasts a lifetime.

Ben Clifford

Russ Dwyer

Giorgia Jenkins

Charity Fundraiser

Sponsored by Amazon.

This category reflects someone who has selflessly given their time to raise funds for a charity, to make a difference in people’s lives.

Des Lally

John Llewellyn

Baywood Belles

Good Neighbour / Volunteer

This award recognises those people who go out of their way to help others.

Steve Burgess

Geraint John

Anthony Quinn-Flipping


This is awarded to someone who has demonstrated exceptional courage in the face of adversity.

Damian Fermandel

Jo Morris

Becky Watkins

Extra Mile

Winner announced at the awards ceremony on April 29.

Lifetime Achievement

Sponsored by Happy Home Furnishers.

This award recognises an individual who has over a sustained period of time, committed themselves to an organisation and has made a significant contribution to individuals and our community alike.

Lynne Sanders

Ray Singh CBE

Sean Stillman

Editor’s Choice

Sponsored by Mcdonald’s.

Winner announced at the awards ceremony on April 29.

The South Wales Evening Post Community Awards will be held as a virtual awards ceremony on Thursday, April 29 2021 from 6.30pm.

Nominate your Covid-19 Hero by March 29 here. To register for your free ticket, contact simone.joynes@reachplc.com.


Source link